• Homebase World Championships

  • We are delighted to announce the British Lawn Mower Racing Association (BLMRA) has established a link up with Homebase, who sponsored the recent World Championships 2015 event.

    As a leading retailer of lawnmowers, the company is a big fan of the BLMRA and loves the way it allows people to take part in motor sport at a grassroots level.

    The link up saw Homebase donate the sponsorship money which paid for all of the trophies at the prestigious event in Coneyhurst, West Sussex.

    Held over two days, the race-day competition was fierce and saw three groups compete for the championship, before Sam Ratcliffe (Group 2), Robert Rowlands (Group 3) and Mark Robinson (Group 4) were eventually crowned as this year’s world champions.

    It is hoped the partnership could be developed again for next year, with talks set to take place about how Homebase can become more involved for 2016.

    A spokesperson for Homebase, said: “We’re delighted to have linked up with the BLMRA to sponsor one of the most talked about and fun grassroots motor sport events of the year.

    “Motor racing is one of the best loved sports in the country. It’s fast, its furious and it always brings out the competitive spirit in everyone who takes part and goes to watch.

    “However, it can sometimes be very expensive if you do want to get involved and take part. That’s why we love the idea of racing lawn mowers, an everyday item which you can buy from us online.

    “Cutting your grass is a very British pastime and so is motor racing. So, what could be better than combining both of those into one major sporting event?”

    In true nail-biting fashion, the showpiece event truly was anyone's to win; thanks to a fast and furious format which meant just one mistake out on the track or an unexpected mechanical glitch would completely change the standings. This made sure the final outcome was only a certainty when the last chequered flag dropped. 

    Hard-fought rounds during the packed programme on the Saturday left all three groups on a knife edge, with just one or two points separating the main contenders and an electric atmosphere guaranteed the following day.

    Sure enough, the Sunday racing couldn't have been any better with hundreds of spectators present and everything going down to the wire.

    In the Group 2 class, it was nip and tuck between eventual winner Sam Ratcliff and overnight leader Paul Johnson, before Ratcliff finally emerged victorious with some superb driving toward the end of the day.

    In the Group 3 class, Colin Clegg turned in some blistering starts and looked set to pip Robert Rowlands, who was racing a handlebar-equipped machine, at the post.

    Despite the pressure taking its toll, Clegg was so desperate to get away first he upended his machine on the start line and this opened the door for Rowlands to never look back and win the title.

    In the remaining Group 4 class, Mark Robinson gradually eased ahead of challengers Peter ‘Pugs’ Reeves and James Waters despite a broken wheel stud and a did not finish (DNF) in the final round.

    With the British Lawnmower World Championships all wrapped up, just the European Tractor Cup remained, a 20-lap race which saw Dan Godden quickly get out in front and into a position he never relinquished.

    Mark Robinson, one of the event organisers at the BLMRA, said: “This event is one of the pinnacles of our racing calendar; 18 heats in each of the three Group categories, which saw some intense and high-pressured racing taking place over the two days.

    “This year, we saw 35 competitors fight it out to see who could emerge as World Champion and it was as hard-fought as ever.

    "The main things is that everyone who came enjoyed lots of laughs and had an amazing, fun-packed weekend.

    “Obviously, we would like to say a massive thank you to Homebase for their support, which helped to achieve what was probably one of our most successful World Championships to date."


    Final results

    Group 2: 1st Sam Ratcliff, 2nd Paul Johnson, 3rd Mike Cresswell

    Group 3: 1st Robert Rowlands, 2nd Colin Clegg, 3rd Dean Fuller

    Group 4: 1st Mark Robinson; 2nd Pugs Reeves; 3rd James Waters

    The BLMRA