• Who's Who?

    So Who Does What For The BLMRA?
    Below is brief outline of those involved in the organisation of the sport. The British Lawn Mower Racing Association (BLMRA) is managed by a committee and elected by the members. Each Committee Member has a role to play in the running of the club.
    We also have a President, Jim, the man who started it all and a Vice President, Pete. We also bestow the title of Honourable Vice President to those who have given long service and dedication the BLMRA. Some still play a part in running the sport.


    President  - Jim Gavin

    I organise classic drives and plan routes for classic rallies.

    I was a co driver for the Ford rally team back in the 1960s. I started lawn mower racing in 1973 with the formation of The BLMRA and the first British Championship event held in Murphy’s field in Wisborough Green. I am also the General Secretary of the BLMRA.

    Vice President - Pete Hammerton

    I am the Proprietor / Director of an engineering company

    I first got involved at the 12 hour race in 1976 as a mechanic for the Cricketers Team. I was then elected onto the race committee in 1981 and started helping with the 12 hour organization in 1982, before being elected committee Chairman in 1996. I retired from committee in 2008 and appointed Vice President. Now working behind the scenes as required, on matters such as Health & Safety, Insurance, General Admin & Accounts. Since 2003 I have been organizing the BLMRA War Trips. And finally …… I’ve never actually raced a Lawn Mower, but the sport has been my life’s hobby!



    Chairman / Group 2 Representative Ian Ratcliff

    I am a garden contractor

    I was introduced to mower racing after seeing racing at The Big Field at Dorking in June 1981. I entered my first race in October with my 2 brothers running behind a group 1 mower. I returned in 1982 for my first 12 Hour on a Group 2. Although it was tiring it was nowhere near as bad as group 1. I was then hooked. My role on the committee amongst other things will be to represent the group 2 racers.



    Technical & Homologation - Charlie Gould

    CAA Licensed Avionics engineer for Virgin Atlantic.

    I look after the equipment, the trailer and our store. I also take the BLMRA trailer to most meetings. I am also responsible for Technical and Homologation. I started lawnmower racing around 34 years ago in Group1. After a break of 2-3 years I built a Gp2, which was the start of "Red Robin Racing". We raced in this group for a few years. Eventually I retired from group 2 and went to group 3 with a Lawnbug, race number 24 AKA "Piston Broke Racing". In 2000 I stopped racing after our trip to the USA, but I still can't bring myself to sell the mower. I joined the committee in 1990.



    Technical & Homologation - John Lowdell (JJ)

    Plumbing and heating engineer

    I first saw lawn mower racing in 1978, like most people it was a 12 hour race. I started racing in 1986 in Group 3. I have won the 12 hour and the 6 hour and finished second in the British Championship two years running. I joined the committee in 1990 and retired from racing in 2004. I currently have my hands full with committee business , principally with technical and homologation. I am one of the senior clerk of courses and help organise the 12 Hour. As to my nickname, you'll have to ask someone else why (it is mower related)!!



    Events Coordinator / Group 4 Representative - Mark Robinson

    Ex-automotive journalism and public relations, since retired

    I started racing in Group 3 in 2004 on a shared mower, but without huge success other than overall winner in the 2006 6 hour (obviously a lot of mechanical failures that year!). After a couple of years out (other than racing in Belgium when I managed to crack a rib), I returned in 2009 on a Group 4 John Deere, finishing runner up in the British and World Championships. In 2010 I won the British and World Champs....and cracked another rib.


    Technical and Homologation / Group 3 Representative - Les Pantry 

    Aeronautical Engineer
    I built my first mower a Group 2 for £23 in 1992 but was soon converted to Group 3 Westwood Lawn Bug which i helped to develop it to what it is today.  in the late 90's i retired from racing but kept my hand in building Group 2 & 4. I started racing again part time in 2007 on a Group 4 while building another Lawn Bug, & started my first full season in 2010, best achievements 4th in the British & World Championships I joined the committee in 2013


    Technical and Homologation - Mark Thurston

    Self employed car mechanic
    I started out as a mechanic for a local lawn mower racing team and progressed in to racing in 2009. I race a Group 4 tractor with varying levels of success. The highlight was being part of the 2013 group 4 endurance championship winning team. I was elected on to the committee in 2015. 


    Events Coordinator - Peter Reeves (Pugs)

    Car Mechanic
    I first started lawnmower racing in the pits at a 12 hour and loved it. I then decided with a friend we would build a group 4 together. We have won a few races including group 4 endurance championship in 2013. I have been lucky enough to travel with the sport to the f1, poland and finland. And you will soon know who I am as I talk a lot!



    Simon Campbell

    Agricultural / garden machinery mechanic

    I'm fairly new to lawnmower racing and started out the hard way competing in the 12 hour as my first race on a group 3 lawnbug owned and loaned by the BLMRA. I was instantly hooked I've now moved up to a group 4 and race a westwood gazelle. I love the variety of venues and how friendly people are.



    Karl Selby

    Plant fitter and general mechanic. 

    I have been actively racing for the last eight years with some good results in endurance and British championship, I love all aspects of lawnmower racing from the building of mowers as well as the great atmosphere and banter of the race meetings, I like travelling with the club to many different countries in Europe racing and made some great friends on the way.



    Honourable Vice Presidents Present and (Past)

    Nick Sergeant

    (Stan Cooper)

    Simon Haysom

    Dick Greengrass

    Howard Annett

    Chris Burrough MBE

    Mark Akeroyd

    Chris Glanville-Brown

    Colin Clegg

    Chris Johnson

    Mick Levey

    Dave Pattison

    Pete Austin

    Andy Stemp

    Pete Longley

    Hans Odoerfer

    (Tracy Mckay)

    Ian Tanswell

    Dean Fuller

    Steve Fielder

    Jim Hammerton

    (Jason Kanabus)

    Mick Hills

    Colin Fox

    Mark Constanduros

    Mark Jaffe

    Andrew Ashworth

    Simon Funnell